OPINION: Agriculture Commissioner Adam “Rip Van” Putnam Awakens – Has Opinions – But Where’s the Beef?

86
111

According to those who know him best, Adam Putnam was born to be Governor of Florida. Reared in one of Imperial Polk County’s landed gentry families, Putnam was the good son, the Future Farmer of America. The Bartow High graduate then raced off to Gatorland, the breeding ground of Florida’s Governors and quickly became amember of UF’s Agriculture Fraternity and studied food science as his major. Upon graduating from UF, instead of returning home to run the family business, Putnam set about pursuing a career in politics and succeed he did.

Armed with a wholesome look, a methodical, if cautious approach to his path, Putnam’s trajectory looked more like that of a Space Coast rocket than a son of the Heartland. His love of Florida unquestioned, he married and raised a family all while continuing his quest for power and service. Putnam served quietly, but effectively for four terms in the Florida House of Representatives. Making more friends than waves, Putnam spent is twenties learning the procedural ropes of governance. From there, it was off to Washington, where as a young thirty-something Congressman, Putnam made even more friends in the power elite. He latched on to leadership, was a good member, a loyal vote for his Party, he even Chaired the leadership caucus, whipped up votes and raised millions for other Republicans to earn or keep their majority status.

Unfortunately for Putnam, serving in Congress meant being miles from home and time away from what he loved most; his family, his home and his quest for the Governor’s mansion. Following the disastrous Congress that saw Putnam help lead his party to one of history’s largest expansions of government during and after the economic chaos of the Great Recession, he found a convenient opportunity to run for Commissioner of Agriculture. Putnam jumped at the chance to reestablish his Tallahassee chops in an easy job that was almost abolished for its lack of consequence by the last Constitutional Revision Commission.

Putnam then did what he does best, quietly, methodically make more friends. He got to know big-money lobbyists, statewide fundraisers, and other wealthy and powerful friends who would ultimately help him in his quest to grab the brass ring he so covets. Immediately following the tumultuous 2017 legislative session, a session where many were asking, “where is Adam Putnam?” he emerged and announced that he was, finally, a candidate for Governor. Given the fact that he has spent his entire life preparing for this moment, developing his policy chops and ideas on governing the state – one might have thought Putnam would announce with great fanfare, new ideas, and passion yet unseen in Florida. This announcement should have rivaled that of Jeb Bush’s 1998 kick-off – the heir apparent, the man whose time had come. Yet we were instead reminded that Adam Putnam is no Jeb Bush.

At his big kick off, Adam Putnam announced that it was time to put Florida First. Really – forty years in the making and that is Adam Putnam’s bold new plan and inspiring new slogan – Putting Florida First. In essence, this is the Publix Deli equivalent of an Air Sandwich. To be fair, Putnam has further boldly proclaimed that his priorities would focus on education, public safety and making Florida friendly to veterans and the military. Of course, even our tourists know that Florida has a long history of being very pro-veteran and pro-military while and it is lost on no one that every Governor in modern time has made education and public safety a priority in Florida. So much for the bold vision thing.

Putnam makes a good point and speaks eloquently about making Florida “more than a prize for a life well-lived someplace else,” even if he has no clue how to actually do it, at least he recognizes and talks about it. Putnam states that he wants Florida to be the launch pad for the American dream, that “it can be that if we put Florida First.” Yet, as Senate President Joe Negron battled to make Florida’s biggest economic engines world class places by bringing Universities to the level of quality to rival UNC and UVA, Adam Putnam was MIA. Does putting Florida First mean we spend money to do so, make policies that get us there or just pledge to do so on a bus tour of Florida? One can almost hear Putnam humming about his beloved Florida, “we are first in war and first in peace, and first in everyone’s hearts…” but for the fact that that song is already taken.

With 40 plus years of preparation, onlookers must be left to wonder how it is that Rip Van Putnam emerges as a candidate and all he can tell us is that we should “put Florida First.” In fairness, that was not all Putnam said as he embarked on a 22-stop bus tour of Florida. He also has stated that the future “is boundless if we focus on letting American innovation unleash itself, instead of falling down the trap of big government and bloated bureaucracy.” Adding “That won’t happen on my watch.” The only problem with this point is that years and years of former Governors and legislatures have already created the low tax, low regulatory promised-land Putnam envisions. Putnam is like Columbus, thinking he “discovered” America and the rest of us are like the Native American’s thinking: “No, sir, we knew it was here all along.”

Ah, Adam Putnam, the Courageous Crusader! Forty years to prep and all we get is platitudes. All this talk of conservatism would make you wonder how this guy voted the way he did for all those big Government programs in Washington. Meanwhile, as Agriculture Commissioner, Putnam was listless and nearly lifeless, especially during the most recent legislative session where Visit Florida budgets and job recruitment programs were almost purged. But fear not, Adam Putnam has now emerged to lead us to the promised land, just as he has led Florida’s agriculture industry into… stop. That won’t work, Florida Agriculture is in a terrible decline and has gotten worse on Putnam’s watch.

Putnam’s stump speech is simply that – a stump. For all his fundraising prowess, all his careful calculation, one would think Adam Putnam would have one, just one new idea to present as he kicks off his first campaign for Governor. Instead, the people of Florida are left to ask their Commissioner of Agriculture – Where’s the Beef?

Comments From Facebook

user
Cynthia Scothorn: Floridians better be wary of Putnam! He's all sugared up and could care less about our state of Florida!.I wouldn't trust him with anything!
Posted ON : 05/20/2017
user
Sandra Bridges: Yeah he's not sugar coating this election. We'll be working against him at every step  
Posted ON : 05/20/2017
user
Richard Slaybaugh: And I will be working against him and ANY demokrat!  
Posted ON : 05/20/2017
user
Paula Pearson: Knows how to take bribes, line his pockets and screw over his constituents; what else does he need to be governor of FLA?
Posted ON : 05/20/2017
user
Richard Dalessio: Send him down to another State
Posted ON : 05/21/2017
user
Frankie Everett: no thanks howdy doody.......
Posted ON : 05/21/2017
user
Pete Overman: Google Putman Family Land Deal with the State of Florida .
Posted ON : 05/21/2017
user
Martin Vosseller: Link? All the ones I find are on sites you must pay to view.  
Posted ON : 05/21/2017
user
Laura O'Connor: http://politics.heraldtribune.com/2012/06/11/putnam-family-makes-windfall-on-land-sale/  
Posted ON : 05/21/2017
user
Laura O'Connor: http://www.palmbeachpost.com/news/congressman-got-millions-land-deal/rD9barg56J6T1j2aBKvhoK/  
Posted ON : 05/21/2017
user
Gary Eaton: No
Posted ON : 05/21/2017
user
Barbara Ann Sielke: NO, he would BE more of we have now.. Thx anyway
Posted ON : 05/21/2017
user
Anne Ross: Uh .....NO....google erased Health Dept reports on Publix Grocery Stores
Posted ON : 05/21/2017
user
Donald Lack: No...
Posted ON : 05/21/2017
user
Sandra Bridges: Terrific piece. I couldn't agree more. It would be more of the same for Florida. We need someone who truly cares about the state, it's people, it's environment and it's wildlife and our future. Not someone in the pockets of big money and big sugar. No thanks
Posted ON : 05/21/2017
user
Gene Cauley: It's good to see people aren't taking him at face value. But more and more Floridians need to be made aware of Putnam, his lack of past performance in creating any significant legislation ( and the things he did consistently voted for) his being so beholden to the corporate interests- let the social media hum with this information!
Posted ON : 05/21/2017
user
Cindy Walsh Sternlicht: Plus, this column spells it out: Adam was born to money and has never held a job outside of public office. He can't fathom how people in the real world love. Being governor is another entitlement for him. No thanks.
Posted ON : 05/21/2017
user
Betty McColgan: Adam who??
Posted ON : 05/21/2017
user
Robert Stillwell: fuck that rich Republikkkan....
Posted ON : 05/21/2017
user
David Jackson: Asswipe!  
Posted ON : 05/21/2017
user
Sharon Gibson: This fool made it illegal to photograph animals being abused in Florida. He did not want the abuse stopped....just not filmed. He's a slimy, underhanded creepy guy who should never ever....NEVER EVER...hold a political office in any state ever again. This is my opinion.
Posted ON : 05/21/2017
user
Sharon Gibson: Horrible person. A tool of evil. My opinion, because he cares nothing for the suffering of animals...just don't get caught taking photos of the torture, because he made it illegal. HE HATES ANIMALS, SO HELL NEVER GET MY VOTE...NEVER EVER
Posted ON : 05/21/2017
user
Bob Cole: why is he taking big money from Big Sugar seeing how he is supposed to regulate them?
Posted ON : 05/22/2017
user
Sue Anne Davis Poppell: Helllllll NOOOOOOO!!!!!!
Posted ON : 05/22/2017
user
William Burgess: Seriously, this guy is a joke, but then again thats what we said about rick scott.
Posted ON : 05/22/2017
user
Sharon Gibson: I hate this ANIMAL HATER. he made laws that make it illegal ...not to torture animals, but to photograph the torture....he should be placed in a hog parlor for a year and see how he likes it. ANIMAL HATER
Posted ON : 05/25/2017
user
William Burgess: To be perfectly frank adam is not qualified to be a fuckin dog catcher.
Posted ON : 05/25/2017
user
Carol Jackson: Do any of you people even know this young man before running off at the mouth can't believe the crap coming out of your mouth I've known Adam over 20 years and he has worked hard for everything he has and would make a great governor so if you can't say anything nice keep your mouths shut
Posted ON : 05/25/2017
user
Richard Slaybaugh: The liberals here are just nasty but I am a conservative and I think he is NOT the right guy. Never had a real job. Establishment Republican who is all talk and no action. No record. Reminds me of another professional politician who slithered into the Presidency a few years back. We need people like Ted Yoho who actually had real jobs and were not born to political office.  
Posted ON : 05/25/2017
user
Tania Lynn Weissenegger: reminds me of how Hillary thought she was just destined to be President....  
Posted ON : 05/25/2017
user
Andy White: I do believe Mr Morgan will win this position.  
Posted ON : 05/25/2017
user
Carol Jackson: Morgan is nothing but an ambulance chaser certainly not governor material  
Posted ON : 05/25/2017
user
Mike Deming: I can't say I've liked everything or policy positions he has had over the years, but he has worked hard for Florida, I met him when he first got elected to the Florida House, met him at s rural development conference in Ocala. Also, it's unfair to criticize his family, they are good folks from rural Polk County. Florida.What candidate for governor of Florida isn't going to take money from special interests and lobbyists of Florida?Putnam may not be perfect, but he's going to be the next governor and likely better than the other candidates.  
Posted ON : 05/25/2017
user
Carol Jackson: Thank you Mike Deming  
Posted ON : 05/25/2017
user
Diane Wellday: I can't believe you,Mike Deming and Carol Jackson, that you believe it is okay to compromise your constituents by taking money from special interests and lobbyists. Who do you think voted for Putnam? But his constituents know better now. You are giving the conservatives a black eye by endorsing shady behavior.  
Posted ON : 05/25/2017
user
Carol Jackson: Diane Wellday just maybe Mike & I know more about Mr Putnam than you think you could possibly know and there is NO shady behavior he has worked hard for all he's done  
Posted ON : 05/25/2017
user
Laura O'Connor: I know a lot of nice people who work hard. Doesn't make them qualified for the governor's mansion.  
Posted ON : 05/25/2017
user
Carol Jackson: Laura O'Connor he's not just anybody he has worked hard as our Ag commissioner  
Posted ON : 05/25/2017
user
Terry King: While I appreciate your kind, educated and enlightened comments, however I am through voting for some one who is all talk..... and no action. Just being there doesn't make you part of the solution, look at the Congress in Washington. A lot of talk, big lies and no actions, not good for one thing. They will say anything to get elected. but then they will betray you in a second. This time vote with some sort of investigation on the person, for once do your own work, don't take my word or this article. Look at their voting records, their past news releases, look at the budgets of whatever they were in and see if they were responsible and accountable to you. DON'T VOTE UNLESS YOU CHECK THEM OUT FIRST........HELP AMERICA, yourselves and neighbors.
Posted ON : 05/25/2017
user
David Maib: Howdy Doody for governor!!
Posted ON : 05/26/2017
user
Kathy Martin: If he's a Republican, I'll vote for the other candidate.
Posted ON : 05/26/2017
user
Cindy Lang: I searched for accomplishments for Putnman and couldn't find anything....I guess he really has been asleep for years.......
Posted ON : 05/26/2017
user
William Summers: Why is he rich, what lobbyists pave the road for him to travel. Big bucks in politics​.
More if you know who to destroy.
Posted ON : 05/26/2017
user
Theodore Johns: Quite frankly, two decades of Republican governors and a GOP
led lefislature has left Florida lagging in many areas. It's past time for a change, Democratic leadership is necessary to get this state back on track. Low wages for workers, teachers treated badly and ignoring the environment as coastal streets are flooding demand this change.
Posted ON : 05/26/2017
user
Louis R. Melara: Dream on.  
Posted ON : 05/26/2017
user
Theodore Johns: Dream on until when, the entire state is submurged? Wake up!  
Posted ON : 05/26/2017
user
Jenna Chester: Theodore Johns Pretty sure the whole state will be submerged at some point anyway; how soon is the question.  
Posted ON : 05/26/2017
user
Theodore Johns: We stopped the hole in the ozone layer from growing and figured out how to stop acid rain. We know what we have to do to stop global warming via climate change. We are ground zero in the US.  
Posted ON : 05/26/2017
user
James M. Ray: Democrat leadership did FL no good in the '70s, either. It's time for Florida to Open the Debates, even if "news" media groups such as the Florida Society of News Editors/FSNE would prefer to block their own critics. Obviously, adult (read: large-L Libertarian) supervision needs to AT LEAST be given a chance, for a change, against the corrupt big-money parties.  
Posted ON : 05/26/2017
user
Laura O'Connor: Had to go back almost 50 years to bash dems in Florida. sad.  
Posted ON : 05/26/2017
user
Ray Adams: Him and Scott are environmental disasters.Lets not forget who they support in Washington.
Posted ON : 05/26/2017
user
Geoff Ball: Let's never forget that Bondi, Scott and Putnam tried and failed to avoid government in the sunshine laws, got caught and lost a huge lawsuit. Then deducted their legal fees from taxpayer revenue @ 700k if memory serves!
Posted ON : 05/26/2017
user
John Bridges: Putnam is a Putz.
Not good for Florida
Posted ON : 05/26/2017
user
Mark Howell: He is absolutely pro-Florida. The replacement at AG should be Denise G.
Posted ON : 05/26/2017
user
Fred Strickland: Every Gov. has not put education first. Jeb Bush cut funding to education. Polk Co. and other counties in the state had to raise taxes to make up the loss. That 1/2 cent sales tax is coming up for a renewal vote. What has he done for the algae problem in south Fl. You were to kind to Adman Putman.
Posted ON : 05/26/2017
user
Andy White: I will be voting for Mr Morgan . He is a man of action and will put the people of florida first . Just because you have a Putnam in your name certainly doesn't qualifie you , no worries young man BIG SUGAR has an office set aside for you .
Posted ON : 05/26/2017
user
Mike Deming: The last time "the people won" was with Chiles - McKay. Morgan wouldn't be Chiles - McKay.  
Posted ON : 05/26/2017
user
Vin Mannix: Great opinion piece on Putnam. He's a fraud.
Posted ON : 05/26/2017
user
Barbara Carter: silly lil red head idiot..little man complex.
Posted ON : 05/26/2017
user
Jerry Vance: I wrote him and he was too busy to answer back. I guess that I was not financially rewarding to him for an answer. Charlie Crist on the other hand always took time to answer. No votes for Adam from me, even if it means going against the party.
Posted ON : 05/26/2017
user
Ron Nickolas:
Posted ON : 05/27/2017
user
Richard Figueroa: Bet he won't answer questions about the Tritium contamination from the Nuke plant,or all the contaminated drinking water that gets runoff from farms that use pesticides.
Posted ON : 05/27/2017
user
Mike Deming: Yeah he caused that.  
Posted ON : 05/27/2017
user
Charles Duckworth: MEET OUR NEXT GOVERNOR. SOLID
Posted ON : 05/27/2017
user
Vickie Drake: Morgan
Posted ON : 05/27/2017
user
Tom Geezer: This is the guy that gave security lic's/ CWP's to immigrants/and some who were looked over by FBI..ie: Orlando shooter, Fort lauderdale airport.
Posted ON : 05/27/2017
user
Tom Geezer: He also gave them to sex offenders and some arrested for domestic violence.
Posted ON : 05/27/2017
user
Tom Geezer:
Posted ON : 05/27/2017
user
Tom Geezer: Dont like workin with these peaple, and sick of putting security guards in jail. Makes us all look bad, and is an unsafe work place!
Posted ON : 05/27/2017
user
David Lynn Brumbaugh: Obviously this is a BS hit piece on Putnam...few truthful facts if any...even most of the comments appear faked. Pitiful trolling at best.
Posted ON : 05/27/2017
user
Tom Walsh: Let me guess -- The USHerald does not like Adam Putnam and you're trying to undermine his campaign by inuendo and fake news.
Posted ON : 05/27/2017
user
James Wickman: can we say they are a little biased.
Posted ON : 05/27/2017
user
Jeff Sheets: what innuendo? Hes an establishment politician that runs some authoritarian agencies
Posted ON : 05/27/2017
user
Allen Falk: He is owned by sugar and not good for the citizens only special interests, He's had many years in govt too many his accomplishments are he raises money from sugar
Vote him out
Posted ON : 05/27/2017
user
Jeff Mcdonough: Prove it with hard facts! Really more bullshit lies from the left.  
Posted ON : 05/27/2017
user
Allen Falk: Do not be rude just understand he accepts money and his pockets are full of sugar money. If he pledges to make the water go south and stops being a puppet for sugar propagated myths than I am all in but now hell no. Please stop being in denial  
Posted ON : 05/27/2017
user
Mike Deming: They all accept money.  
Posted ON : 05/27/2017
user
Allen Falk: But his acceptance of funding of millions from sugar and his pro sugar stance is epic  
Posted ON : 05/27/2017
user
Thor House: At least he isn't working with the People of the American Way like the mayor of Tallahassee has been. Go ahead look them up and see what they stand for and maybe find out that George Soros is funding them.
Posted ON : 05/28/2017
user
David Jackson: You (USA Herald) don't know shit about future Florida Governor Adam Putnam! Your politics are showing...
Posted ON : 05/28/2017
user
Cal Leary: But the people in florida do for 5 generations and he will be the next Florida governor Dave .
Posted ON : 05/28/2017
user
Karl Sswed: No! Never!
Posted ON : 05/28/2017
user
Charles Carroll: Putnam is despicable
Posted ON : 05/28/2017
user
Jeff Mcdonough: Other then words how??? By this lying liberal media hit piece.  
Posted ON : 05/28/2017
user
Charles Carroll: Personally seen him and followed his actual actions. He is a lying conservative goper tea bagger who doesn't serve a vote.  
Posted ON : 05/28/2017
user
Michael H. Moore: No by CharlesCarrolls lying liberal opinion. Tea bagger? How evolved chuck  
Posted ON : 05/28/2017
user
Charles Carroll: Michael H. Moore no lying. Conservative despicable mic  
Posted ON : 05/28/2017
user
Michael H. Moore: Because your leftist liberal policies for the last eight years were SO great for America's people. Crawl back under your bridge you miserable troll  
Posted ON : 05/28/2017
user
Charles Carroll: Michael H. Moore how's that Russian loving orangutan working out out for you rightest traitors? Wiggle back under your rock you worm.  
Posted ON : 05/28/2017
user
John W. Hill: This Seminole is voting for Putnam. He's a good guy. You libtard haters find someone else to Rant about.
Posted ON : 05/28/2017
user
Bruce Christmas: Amazing how many people have a negative opinion that don't have a concept!
Posted ON : 05/28/2017
user
Leon McClellan: Adam is a great guy. We need more politicians like him. Sincere, honest, and passionate about what is best for Florida as a whole. He will be the next Governor. John Morgan is garbage, a complete whack job!
Posted ON : 05/28/2017
user
Michael S. Elliston: Where's the beef? Putnam doesnt have any... he's all full of #BULLSUGAR
Posted ON : 05/28/2017
user
Michael H. Moore: Wow so many lib opinions in one place I could smell horses*** coming out of my screen
Posted ON : 05/28/2017
user
Larry Barthle: 100% Hatchet job.
Posted ON : 05/28/2017
user
Don Curtis: Putnam hasn't met a regulation he didn't like.
Posted ON : 05/28/2017
user
John Lord: Professional politician. Professional politicians are ruining this state, and country. The biggest difference in Democrats and Republicans. The letter following their names. Different cheeks of the same buttock.
Posted ON : 05/28/2017
user
Michael H. Moore: No John DEMOCRATS are ruining this state. ..and 49 others as well  
Posted ON : 05/28/2017
user
Michael H. Moore: If they become PROFESSIONAL politicians we the people are the problem  
Posted ON : 05/28/2017
user
Larry Lawler: Michael H. Moore and who's been in charge for the last 12 years?  
Posted ON : 05/28/2017
user
Vicki White: That's rich, considering the fact that rethugnicans hold a majority in the legislature and a minority in the population.  
Posted ON : 05/28/2017
user
Belinda Blanton: NEVER
Posted ON : 05/28/2017
user
Adam Rich: Hit piece much?
Posted ON : 05/29/2017
user
Allen Falk: Denounce sugar and you have a chance as is hell no sugar baby
Posted ON : 05/29/2017
user
William Hunter: ARE YOU GOING TO FREE THE WEED.? ??
Posted ON : 05/29/2017
user
Michael H. Moore: Simple answer. ..Yes, however probably not for recreational for now, but we all know that is on the way. Adams a AG business guy from an AG business family, if the state and our populace will benefit he will do what is right for Florida. On a personal note I have seen the benefit up close on my sister who was dying from cancer so the medicinal value cannot be discounted  
Posted ON : 05/29/2017
user
Larry Lawler: 73 percent. Quit fucking around and follow the will of the electorate.  
Posted ON : 05/29/2017
user
J Michael Powell: Send Putnam home, he is worthless.
Posted ON : 05/29/2017
user
Michael H. Moore: J Michael Powell you should get a job with the Dnc with all the pro hillary /party hogwash you post. Are you a paid troll yet? Maybe you could take Seth Richs spot since his seems to be vacant  
Posted ON : 05/29/2017
user
J Michael Powell: Michael H. Moore you being a ghoul I will not consider any of your remarks to have merit. Putnam is worthless, he has parlayed his suppossed hatred of government into a full time government career. Now to be sure , he does hate government -of and for the folks, as do all Republicans. They do love government of and for the narrow special interests though. You get back in your coffin and stew in your rancid juices .  
Posted ON : 05/29/2017
user
Michael H. Moore: When you call another man "worthless " and call all Republicans whatever you deem them to be. ...maybe somehow lacking humanity? You are the ghoul I believe was your term, and the last 8 years was an indicator of your sides policies for the people and that's why you losers will continue to lose. Irrelevant comes to mind as does EXPOSED  
Posted ON : 05/29/2017
user
Michael H. Moore: Write the word useless in big red letters on a piece of paper and tape it to your mirror. .now there is a useless man  
Posted ON : 05/29/2017
user
J Michael Powell: Michael H. Moore you seem somewhat of a snowflake, triggered even .You are a ghoul, get back in yoru coffin. Anything that brings up the Rich murder in the context you do is a ghoul. Putnam is still worthless and exactly as described as is the Republican Party. Were there a hell the Republican Party of Florida would have a destination resort reserved.  
Posted ON : 05/29/2017
user
Michael H. Moore: so you gonna volunteer?  
Posted ON : 05/29/2017
user
Christine Carter: Just what FL needs, another multimillionaire acting like he understands the issues faced by most of us as we try to stretch every precious dollar.
Posted ON : 05/29/2017
user
Michael H. Moore: Stay out of Florida politics. By the way hypocrite much you're a mindless Hillary supporter,so your post is just that much more ironic. ..and irrelevant  
Posted ON : 05/29/2017
user
Christine Carter: Michael H. Moore I've been a registered FL voter & voted in every election, local, state, & national for the 20 years I've lived here. As an American citizen, I have a Constitutional right to say what I think & vote for the candidates I choose.  
Posted ON : 05/29/2017
user
Larry Lawler: As drumpf says, very low energy, a Dick scott status quo guy. Useless.  
Posted ON : 05/29/2017
user
LaDonna Weatherford: I'll comment on putman himself. No thankyou, no vote.
Posted ON : 05/29/2017
user
Stanton Bradford Smith: Shame on this article.
Posted ON : 05/29/2017
user
Jim Alsobrook: Paula Dockery?
Posted ON : 05/29/2017
user
David Bobe: I'm voting for him. No gay marriage, transgender or abortion issues. No more taxes and a honest guy to manage the state, not to tell us what to do or think is all I wish.
Posted ON : 05/29/2017
user
Ed Bruce: Just another republican already in "the loop" of corruption! We don't need more of the same in Florida "good ole boy" politics!
Posted ON : 05/29/2017
user
Michael H. Moore: Sorry but Corruption in Florida seems to be mainly from the other party  
Posted ON : 05/29/2017
user
Kevin Dougherty: What has he been charged with? Does he have past arrests, or investigations, or just rumors?  
Posted ON : 05/29/2017
user
Kevin Dougherty: No prob, get him out of the way and elect a liberal from Miami or Tampa, or from the Mothership, Tallahassee...then everything will be beautiful. That'll get rid of the Good Ol' Boys and we will have Jerry Brown...great idea!  
Posted ON : 05/29/2017
user
Kevin Dougherty: I smell a left wing hit job...what Soros puppet are the Dems putting on their ticket.
Posted ON : 05/30/2017
user
Scott Gaillard: Nobody seems not understand what a mean spirited radical Putam is. Admittedly he has done a good job hiding his tracks. And what of this coming back to Florida, baloney. He didn't come back to Florida to be closer to his family, he returned because he sees himself as President and knows it's a lot easier to run for President as a Governor, than a rep or Senator.
Posted ON : 05/30/2017
user
Michael H. Moore: Yeah just ask Donald Trump  
Posted ON : 05/30/2017
user
Leif Cain: Just another Republican hack. Just like Trump. No nothing, do nothing!
Posted ON : 05/30/2017
user
Andrew Vernatte: I have never trusted him, a sleazeball.
Posted ON : 05/30/2017
user
William Robinett: Florida politics are pretty crooked.
Posted ON : 05/30/2017
user
David Jackson: This is a great hit piece on Commissioner Putnam! I just consider the source and ignore you freaking libs who neither know anything about him, nor are interested in learning. Your liberal addled minds are already made up.
Posted ON : 05/30/2017
user
Laura O'Connor: Apparently your mind is made up that everyone reading this is a 'lib', that all the 'libs' are against this guy, and against learning (kind of like that secretary of education your rephucklican friends just appointed). How about you refute this article with some facts, maybe some substance? I'm guessing you're as lacking in those as the candidate seems to be.  
Posted ON : 05/30/2017
user
David Jackson: opinions vary.  
Posted ON : 05/30/2017
user
Michael H. Moore: How about you enlighten us Laura O'Connor with your Superior intellect and knowledge. Rephucklican...so evolved the left  
Posted ON : 05/30/2017
user
Michael H. Moore: So what was your least favorite thing he's done in either of his last 2 public posts?  
Posted ON : 05/30/2017
user
Michael H. Moore: David Jackson little Laura O'Connor needs to understand. ........a$$holes and opinions everyone has one  
Posted ON : 05/30/2017
user
Michael H. Moore: Laura why can't you just be happy?  
Posted ON : 05/30/2017
user
Karl Gloeckner: This Florida native is not voting for Putnam.
Posted ON : 05/30/2017
user
Geoff Ball: Putnam is a joke! Google and him, Bondi and Scott screw taxpayers
Posted ON : 05/31/2017
user
Al Blanz Jr.: Just another "professional" politician!
Posted ON : 05/31/2017
user
Michael H. Moore: Al sorry but you couldn't be more wrong  
Posted ON : 05/31/2017
user
Michael H. Moore: Some of these leftards making comments I can understand,but you? He's one of us  
Posted ON : 05/31/2017
user
Craig Abernethy: Never wanted for anything in his life. Tired of silver spoon gaggers in both parties. I vote NO.
Posted ON : 05/31/2017
user
Michael H. Moore: envy doesn't look good on you  
Posted ON : 05/31/2017
user
Craig Abernethy: Envy? Bad guess. Try again. Clue. A governor that doesn't treat Florida like a land commodity. A governor that will realize the actual potential of conservation and environmental stewardship. I've lived in Florida all my life, and I have watched it being destroyed systematically. No more. I'm sure this post is falling on blind eyes noting your political affiliation, which makes you stink like a red tide, that you and Republican's helped create.  
Posted ON : 05/31/2017
user
David Jackson: Craig Abernethy you are absolutely right on!  
Posted ON : 05/31/2017
user
John Berkey: He has my vote. I have had the absolute pleasure of meeting and working with his staff. Unabashedly, I would be proud to have him as my governor.
Posted ON : 05/31/2017
user
David Jackson: The left is out in force against Adam. His supporters need to continue to be vocal in his support!  
Posted ON : 05/31/2017
user
Karl Sswed: He was born to be an Idiot!
Posted ON : 05/31/2017
user
John Berkey: Brilliant! You don't even know which candidate we are discussing.  
Posted ON : 05/31/2017
user
Michael H. Moore: Karl you're mistaken. ..that message is for you in particular  
Posted ON : 05/31/2017