NY, NJ, CT impose quarantine for travelers from COVID-19 hotspots

NY, NJ, CT 14-day quarantine covid-19

New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut are imposing mandatory 14-day quarantines for travelers coming from states that are COVID-19 hotspots.

The three states were the epicenter of the pandemic over the past few months. In addition to the stay-at-home order, New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo, New Jersey Gov. Phil Murphy, and Connecticut Gov. Ned Lamont implemented measures recommended by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) to reduce and flatten the curve of COVID-19 cases.

According to Gov. Murphy, their states implemented “aggressive action to flatten the curve and beat back the coronavirus.” He added that their “collective efforts” resulted in “low infection rates, falling hospitalizations, and have steadily been reopening our economies.”

U.S. currently experiencing a “disturbing surge” of COVID-19 infections

The governors succeeded in their effort and decided to implement a joint incoming travel advisory to prevent new outbreaks in the tri-state region. This comes in response to surging cases in the South and West, including Alabama, Arizona, California, Georgia, Florida, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Texas, and many other states.