A closer look Chinese sanctions on Ted Cruz and others


The U.S. and China have had a rocky relationship the last few years and the coronavirus has only made it worse. Just this summer, Trump pulled out of WHO citing the organizations preferential treatment of China.

The president has also criticized the Chinese-based social media apps TikTok and WeChat. The U.S. abruptly closed and evacuated the Chinese consulate Houston last month, causing a lot of tension between China and the U.S. 

“For China-US relations, we stand ready to work with the United States to build a relationship on coordination, cooperation and stability in the spirit of non-conflict, non-confrontation, mutual respect and win-win cooperation, but we will never submit to its bullying and power politics,” said Chinese Foreign Ministry Spokesperson Zhao Lijian August 10. 

Signup for the USA Herald exclusive Newsletter

The full list of those under unspecified sanctions are: Senators Marco Rubio, Ted Cruz, Tom Cotton, Josh Hawley and Pat Toomey; Congressman Chris Smith; Human Rights Watch Executive Director Kenneth Roth; National Endowment for Democracy President Carl Gershman; National Democratic Institute president Derek Mitchell; International Republican Institute president Daniel Twining; and Michael Abramowitz, the president of Freedom House.